DMV Demerit Points
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) uses a point system to monitor Virginia drivers. The DMV assigns demerit points for driving convictions and rewards safe driving and driver improvement courses with positive points.
A new Virginia driver begins with 0 points. This applies to both first time drivers and drivers who transfer from another state. Drivers earn one point for each calendar year without any traffic infractions or license suspensions. Completing a driver improvement course accelerates the process by providing 5 positive points. Points may only be earned through the course once every two years. The maximum a driver may earn is 5 points.
Courts do not assign demerit points directly. Instead, the DMV assigns demerit points based on the nature of the court conviction. Demerit points are deducted for every moving violation. Each infraction is assigned a point value of -3, -4, or -6, depending on the severity of the offense. Speeding 20+ mph over the limit and all misdemeanors (i.e. reckless driving, DUI, driving with a suspended license) are assigned 6 demerit points. Examples of 4 demerit point violations are speeding (10-19 mph over limit), passing when unsafe, and failure to yield right of way. 3 demerit point violations include speeding (1-9 mph over limit), improper U-turn, and failure to obey a highway sign. If a driver is convicted of more than one violation in the same incident, then DMV will only assign points for the most severe charge.
There is no limit to how many negative points a driver could accumulate. However, DMV will place a driver on probation if he accumulates 12 or more points in a 12-month period or 18 or more points in a 24-month period. An additional demerit point violation while on probation results in suspension of the driver’s license without a restricted license.
For more information about DMV demerit points or traffic infractions, you may refer to www.dmv.virginia.gov or contact Mark Matney at MatneyLawPLLC.com
The Lawyers at Matney Law PLLC in Newport News Virginia defend people against traffic violations. The Matney Law firm defends people in traffic court against reckless driving, speeding, expired registration, expired license, running a red light or stop sign, failure to wear a seat belt, DUI, DWI, driving without a license or with a suspended license, leaving the scene of an accident, hit-and-run accidents, passing a stopped school bus. Our attorneys serve Williamsburg, Newport News, Hampton, Yorktown, Gloucester, Surry County, Toano.
So You Got A Ticket
Traffic tickets are serious business.
While many view traffic violations as minor infractions and nuisances, traffic tickets and moving violations have the power to wreak havoc on your life. Fees quickly mount, and points from tickets can cause your insurance premiums to skyrocket or result in a revoked or suspended license. Matney Law PLLC does not underestimate the seriousness of traffic violations and doggedly works on your behalf to get the charges you face reduced or dismissed.They can result in fines, court costs and points being placed against your driving record. Accumulating enough points within a two-year period subjects a person to additional sanctions by the Motor Vehicle Administration, including driving school, an official warning letter, a point system conference, suspension or even revocation or driving privileges. And imagine how high your car insurance will be.
Handling a wide array of traffic violation cases
I regularly represent clients charged with traffic violations, including:
Running a red light or stop sign
Failure to signal when changing lanes
Failure to wear a seatbelt
Driving under the influence (DUI)
Driving without a license or with a suspended license
Leaving the scene of an accident
Violating license restrictions
Passing a Stopped School Bus
Failure to Yield
Unsafe Lane Change
Following too Closely
Whether you have been charged with a moving or nonmoving violation, I possess the knowledge needed to protect your best interests in traffic court.