Attorney Mark Matney - Holcomb Law, PC
matney-law-banner-1
Matney Law Reviews

Attorney Mark Matney Reviews

Attorney Mark Matney Reviews… (See Google Business Page) We are pleased to share a sampling of the review that former clients have provided for Holcomb Law, PC (Learn More...)  .  The Lawyers at Holcomb Law defend people throughout Hampton Roads against DUI / DWI, Reckless Driving, and other traffic related violations.  For more reviews, please visit:  www.avvo.com | www.rateabiz.com

Wonderful Attorney

Wonderful attorney, 5.0 stars, Posted on www.avvo.com by Brandon, August 23, 2021
I’ve hired mark to represent me for several traffic infractions and he has always been great. Very professional and responsive. He always took the time to explain the legal process and made me feel very at ease.

Don't Wait To Get a Lawyer

DUI and Reckless Driving, 5.0 stars, Posted on www.avvo.com by anonymous, July 2, 2021
I didn’t know what to do after I was charged with DUI and Reckless. Everyone told me the same thing, DON’T WAIT TO GET A LAWYER. I looked at a lot of attorneys online but ultimately chose to consult with Mark. I figured if he’s half as good a lawyer as he is a Christian, I might stand a chance. After I hired him, the burden was lifted and I left the outcome in God’s hands. We were able to negotiate a plea agreement. The DUI was DISMISSED. I got a better outcome than I had even hoped for.

I can not Thank Mr. Matney Enough

Reckless Driving, 5.0 stars, Posted on Google My Business by Jordan, May 2021
I can not thank Mr. Matney enough and will forever be grateful. Had to go to court for a reckless driving ticket, noticed that my situation was a tricky one due to being in the military and how strict VA traffic laws are, and living out of state in Maryland. Mr. Matney did a wonderful job with explaining what process we would take and gave me helpful advice on what do to do to prepare for my court date. Follow Mr. Matney’s advice and suggestions and you’ll be golden and well prepared for when your court case comes up because ultimately the judge saw the extra work we put in and brought my reckless driving charge down to just a defective speedometer one. If you’re military I highly suggest Mr. Matney. Again thank you sir and I’m forever grateful.

Mark Matney is The Nicest Guy Ever and He Knows His Stuff

Best Attorney Ever!!!, 5.0 stars, Posted on www.avvo.com by anonymous, November 10, 2020
Mark Matney is the nicest guy ever and he knows his stuff. I was charged with a stupid reckless driving charge and my uncle who is a big wig attorney in Manhattan referred me to Mr. Matney. For a very reasonable fee Mr. Matney agreed to represent me and he told me everything I needed to know and do to get my charges dropped/lowered so I wouldn't be facing a misdemeanor. I did everything he told me and even when I needed more time to do the community service he got me an extension. He made the process super easy and he even offered to go to court for me but said it would be better if I came and showed up so I went and I got my charges reduced to improper driving and just paid a fine. BEST MONEY SPENT EVER.

Fantastic Job

Mr. Matney and his crew did a fantastic job handling my case. They were all very professional, communicative, and kept me in the loop each step of the way. I commend them for that. Yesterday I even received a closing packet in the mail, never have before, pretty awesome.  I hope to never need them again, but if I do, I will not hesitate to call and/or recommend his office to a friend. Thanks again!  7-6-2020

First Time Getting a Ticket

First time getting a ticket and it was an out of state ticket in Virginia. Mr. Matney was referred to me by a friend and I reached out by email, receiving a call from him after 5 pm on a Friday asking me all my information and giving me advise even before I hired him. Once I did the communication on the process and how everything would and should work was quick and spot on. The advice given to me by Mr. Matney and his team, (Mary Alice and Claire) was a big relief and helped calm my fears never having dealt with a ticket but an out of state ticket at that. The out come of my speeding ticket was that it was reduced to defective equipment. Having given them all my information and probably more than they needed helped Mr. Matney prepare my case and I didn't even have to drive over 3+ hrs to be in court that day. Would recommend them (and have already) to anyone who receives a ticket in VA - and watch out for those rural areas where the speed changes quickly!

Excellent Job Representing Me!

Posted 12-11-2018
Mark Matney did an excellent job representing me in a reckless driving charge. I was more than satisfied with his work. He was thoroughly professional and experienced, knew the law, and described what would happen when we appeared in court. He laid out the possible outcomes, carefully distinguishing between the most desirable outcome (charges dismissed) and what we might have to consider as an acceptable outcome (charges reduced, which was the outcome and with no demerit points). Mark is a courteous, friendly person, who listened to my story and made me feel comfortable during the entire process. I would not hesitate to use his services again or recommend him.

So Thankful I Called Attorney Mark Matney

Posted 6-25-2018
After my accident, I was extremely nervous about my court fine(s), insurance rate going up, and the mark it would leave on my driving record. I rear-ended someone in stop-and-go traffic, which caused them to rear-end the car ahead of them - nobody was hurt, and I was given a "following too closely" ticket. My best option was to hire a lawyer, but, being from out of town left me blindsided since I knew nobody in the area who could recommend the best lawyer. After investigating many law firm websites, I decided to call Attorney Mark Matney, and I am SO thankful I did! Their Avvo badges on their website, the provided list of case outcomes, and the many wonderful reviews I read were what made my decision easy. I also liked that the consultation was free! I left a message, since I called after office hours, but shortly after leaving my message Mr. Matney called me back. I explained my situation to him and he made sure to ease my mind as he explained how having a lawyer through this process would work. He answered all of my questions thoroughly and made me feel very comfortable about having his firm represent me. Not once did I feel rushed or like I was just another paycheck. His assistants were both very sweet and helpful throughout the time leading up to my court date, too. Ms. Abigail Hockett represented me on the date, and I feel that she is just as wonderful as Mr. Matney! She called me about a week before the court date to go over information and she, too, put my mind at ease. She explained the possible outcomes and finalized the exchange of any additional documents I had that would help support my case (new tire receipts, etc.) On my court date, she went over what would happen in the courtroom and had given the judge documents to support my case beforehand to look over, in the hopes of the best possible outcome - dismissal of the ticket. I think we were in the courtroom for all of five minutes... after the judge called my name, he looked at my paperwork and dismissed my ticket. Thank you so much, Attorney Mark Matney, for everything you have done for me! From all of the reviews I have read, it seems like this is the royal treatment that every one of your clients gets. Hopefully I will not be in the same situation again, but if I am I will absolutely hire you again without hesitation. If you are on the fence as to what law firm can help you, I urge you to call Attorney Mark Matney. 10/10 experience.

Fantastic service

5.0 stars - Posted by Michael - January 21, 2017

Received a summons for reckless driving while on travel to VA (85mph in a 60). Called Mark immediately upon arrival to my hotel. He returned my call within a very short amount of time. His price is fair, staff is exceptional, and he has a plan. He put me at ease and gave me confidence that things would be ok after preparing for the trial date. His approach is pragmatic and realistic...

Mark Randolph Matney’s response: “Rewarding result. You definitely helped us to help you by following the game plan and providing the documents that helped me present your case to the judge.”

Impressed by Your Kindness & Consideration

5.0 stars - Posted by PKK - January 1, 2017

I wanted to take a moment to personally thank you for the professional manner in which you handled my son's summons of 'following too close' in the City of Newport News. When I contacted your office, I was immediately impressed by the kindness and consideration shown by you and Claire, your office manager, respectfully...

DUI and Reckless Driving

5.0 stars - Posted by anonymous - December 12, 2016

It was one of the hardest moments of my life. I was pulled over for going 85 in a 60 and DUI. My career was about to be over. I keep asking myself how I could have been so stupid.  I chose Mr. Matney after calling and reviewing a few Lawyers. I was facing a Reckless Driving charge and DUI. I was going to lose my license for a year, face huge fines, maybe...

Mark Randolph Matney’s response: “Thank you for your humbling review. This was a case where our pretrial preparation helped us exploit a weakness in the prosecutor's case. May you continue to see God's blessings in every area of your life.”

 

I Got My Ticket Reduced Significantly

5.0 stars - Posted by Jim Keene - November 16, 2016

I recently was pulled over for speeding. The speed limit sign was blocked by trees. I hired Mark Matney as my attorney. He was very well prepared. I got my ticket reduced significantly and I had no points deducted from my record. I would highly recommend Mark Matney.

Wills and Trust

5.0 stars - Posted by anonymous - August 26, 2016

Mr. Matney did not advertise that he dealt with wills and trust, but he took care of doing this for us. He was very professional and met with us several times before finalizing the document. He was very assuring to us that what we wanted would be done in a timely manner and it was. Very happy that we have Mr. Matney as our lawyer.

Mark Randolph Matney’s response: “Thank you for your testimonial. I appreciated the opportunity to help. When I was with a general practice firm earlier in my career, I was trained in estate planning. I enjoy the opportunity to help people with their wills or trusts because I know that it will benefit them and their loved ones.”

Great Representation

5.0 stars - Posted by Paul - June 9, 2016

Mark Matney and his staff were very helpful and diligent in their representation of myself and my case. Communication was quick and concise, but easy to understand and the follow up when contacted was great. Great attorney and great office staff to deal with

Mark Randolph Matney’s response: “We appreciated the opportunity to help with this defense. This result is a good example of the importance of prior planning. In this reckless driving by speed case, we were able to avoid the misdemeanor even though the trial was held in the client's absence since he was an out of state resident.”

Professional and Respectful Representation

5.0 stars - Posted by anonymous - May 25, 2016

Mr. Matney and staff showed a level of professionalism, sensitivity and respect that I have not experienced from any dealings with other lawyers. He kept in contact with me on a consistent basis and kept me abreast of all processes and procedures. His representation resulted in a very satisfying outcome in my case. I highly recommend this wonderful team!

Mark Randolph Matney’s response: “I especially appreciate your comment for its acknowledgement of the outstanding help I receive from my staff. We appreciated the opportunity to participate in your case and to help you resolve a difficult situation. Thank you.”

Charge Reduced

5.0 stars - Posted by Brian - March 6, 2016

I called Mr. Matneys office a couple minutes before they closed and he talked to me about my case for a little while. He was in no rush to get off the phone and answered all my questions. When I hung up I knew I had found my attorney. In court he maintained his cool and very collected composure and got my reckless reduced to improper driving. Would recommend him to anyone with a traffic/dui charge.

Mark Randolph Matney’s response: “Thank you for your input Brian. I believe that a significant part of my role as lawyer is helping people to prepare for their time in court. I want each client to know what to expect and to feel ready for any questions that are raised during the hearing.”

One of VA's finest Attorneys!!

5.0 stars - Posted by Sheref - January 31, 2016

I am from NJ and was travelling to VA Beach Labor Day weekend. I was pulled over by a state trooper for doing 85 in a 60 and received a reckless driving ticket. The trooper explained that this was a mandatory court appearance. Upon researching the VA traffic laws, I learned if found guilty one could face jail time, a criminal record and heavy fines...

Mark Randolph Matney’s response: “Thank you for the opportunity to help you. I am very glad for your successful result! Part of my work is helping clients who are not local to understand the unique elements of the Virginia traffic laws and courts.”